ECAC women name year-end award winners; Snickeris top goalie, Babstock top player

The ECAC women’s league has named its end-of-season award winners and Quinnipiac freshman forward Kelly Babstock is the big winner, taking home top rookie and top player honors.

Cornell head coach Doug Derraugh has been named the league’s coach of the year, while Lauriane Rougeau from Cornell is the best defensive defenseman, Reagan Fischer from Dartmouth and Karlee Overguard from Cornell have been named the co-recipients of the best defensive forward award and Yale netminder Jackee Snikeris has been named goaltender of the year.

Babstock, a Mississauga, Ont., native, scored league-highs in goals (30), assists (28) and points (58) and was tied for second in league points (30) on 22 goals and eight assists. She currently leads all NCAA Division I freshmen in goals, assists and points and is second in points per game (1.61). She has been selected ECAC rookie of the week five times, player of the week on two occasions and also received Quinnipiac accolades, as she was named female athlete of the month for November and December.

The three all-league teams, as well as the all-rookie team were also named.

Kelly Babstock, F, Quinnipiac
Rebecca Johnston, F, Cornell
Brianne Jenner, F, Cornell
Laura Fortino, D, Cornell
Lauriane Rougeau, D, Cornell
Jackee Snikeris, G, Yale

Chelsea Karpenko, F, Cornell
Jillian Dempsey, F, Harvard
Kelly Foley, F, Dartmouth
Josephine Pucci, D, Harvard
Sasha Sherry, D, Princeton
Rachel Weber, G, Princeton

Catherine White, F, Cornell
Kelly Sabatine, F, St. Lawrence
Liza Ryabkina, F, Harvard
Sasha Nanji, D, Dartmouth
Leanna Coskren, D, Harvard
Victoria Vigilanti, G, Quinnipiac

Kelly Babstock, F, Quinnipiac
Brianne Jenner, F, Cornell
Carly Mercer, F, Clarkson
Alyssa Gagliardi, D, Cornell
Marissa Gedman, D, Harvard
Erica Howe, G, Clarkson

More honorees will be named in the coming days.