Boston College has two on All-USCHO first team

Michigan and Boston College each placed three players on the All-USCHO teams, while Denver, North Dakota, and Wisconsin each placed two players.

Leading the way on the first team was the Hobey hat trick of Miami’s Andy Miele (USCHO’s player of the year and the Hobey Baker Award winner), North Dakota’s Matt Frattin, and Boston College’s Cam Atkinson.

They all displayed a potent scoring touch, with Miele and Frattin finishing 1-2 in the country in scoring.

Wisconsin’s Jake Gardiner edged teammate Justin Schultz onto the first team by virtue of his outstanding defensive play. Boston College’s Brian Dumoulin joined him as the other defenseman.

Michigan’s Shawn Hunwick, whose 40-save performance against North Dakota carried his Wolverines into the NCAA championship game (where they fell in overtime to Minnesota-Duluth), was voted as the first-team goalie, rounding out the first team.

First team
F Andy Miele, Miami
F Matt Frattin, North Dakota
F Cam Atkinson, Boston College
D Jake Gardiner, Wisconsin
D Brian Dumoulin, Boston College
G Shawn Hunwick, Michigan

Second team
F Jack Connolly, Minnesota-Duluth
F Chase Polacek, Rensselaer
F Carl Hagelin, Michigan
D Justin Schultz, Wisconsin
D Jon Merrill, Michigan
G John Muse, Boston College

Third team
F Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack
F Paul Zanette, Niagara
F Drew Shore, Denver
D Matt Donovan, Denver
D Chay Genoway, North Dakota
G Pat Nagle, Ferris State

USCHO’s awards were voted on by staff members at the Frozen Four.