Notes from the GLI championship game

Successful defense

The Wolverines were the defending Great Lakes Invitational champs, having beaten Colorado College 6-5 in 2010. Including tonight’s win, Michigan has won the GLI title 16 times and these UM seniors have won all but one of their years with Michigan — 2009, the last time Michigan State was crowned GLI champs.

He’s all you need

Michigan State head coach Tom Anastos is a storyteller and a very good one. Here, Anastos explains a few of the turns of the game in the post-game press conference. The voice you hear off camera is that of Neil Koepke, who wrote for the Lansing State Journal for years. Koepke — one of the best in the business — is an MSU staff writer now.
[youtube_sc url= width=500]

A difference of opinion

Not surprisingly, Michigan head coach Red Berenson has a very different take on the lack of television timeouts in overtime.
[youtube_sc url= width=500]

A banner raised

The winner of the GLI gets to raise a banner to the rafters of Joe Louis Arena. The GLI banner hangs all year, and the winning team is on display until the following year’s tournament.
I’m no videographer — clearly — but here’s what I was able to get of the Wolverines raising the banner and leaving the ice.
[youtube_sc url= width=500]

All-tournament team

  • Forwards Brett Perlini (MSU), A.J. Treais (UM) and David Wohlberg (UM)
  • Defensemen Kevin Clare (UM) and Torey Krug (MSU)
  • Goaltender Drew Palmisano (MSU)

Clare, who scored the overtime game winner, was named tournament MVP. With 90 saves in the tournament, 45 each night, Palmisano set a new GLI record. His save percentage for the tourney was .957.