CCHA names All-Conference selections; Ferris State pair leads First Team

Both Miami junior forward Reilly Smith and Michigan State junior defenseman Torey Krug have been selected to the CCHA All-Conference First Team for the second straight season.

Both Smith and Krug were unanimous selections to the First Team, each receiving ten first-place votes.

Smith led the league with 18 goals in conference play and 26 goals overall. Krug tied for the league lead in points with 29, making him the first defenseman to accomplish that feat since the 1986-87 season.

The teams were selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches and are based on performance in conference games only. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

CCHA All-Conference First Team

PlayerPositionSchoolVote Totals (First-Team Votes)
Reilly SmithFMiami50 (10)
Tyler GronFNorthern Michigan42 (7)
T.J. TynanFNotre Dame40 (5)
Torey KrugDMichigan State50 (10)
Chad BillinsDFerris State48 (9)
Taylor NelsonGFerris State34 (6)

CCHA All-Conference Second Team

PlayerPositionSchoolVote Totals (First-Team Votes)
Justin FlorekFNorthern Michigan34 (4)
Cody KunykFAlaska23 (2)
Jordie JohnstonFFerris State22 (3)
Dan DeKeyserDWestern Michigan20 (2)
Matt TennysonDWestern Michigan20 (0)
Shawn HunwickGMichigan24 (2)

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first-team votes in parentheses): Connor Knapp, Sr., G, Miami, (1) 23; Lee Moffie, Jr., D, Michigan, (1) 17; Chris Brown, Jr., F, Michigan, (1) 15; Kevin Kapalka, So., G, Lake Superior State, (2) 13; Anders Lee, So., F, Notre Dame, (1) 10; Kyle Follmer, Jr., D, Northern Michigan, 10.