Harvard women’s coach Stone wins NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Katey Stone, a 1989 graduate of New Hampshire and current coach of the 2014 U.S. women’s Olympic team, is one of six individuals to earn the NCAA’s 2014 Silver Anniversary Award.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college athletics careers. The Honors Committee, comprised of representatives of NCAA member schools and nationally prominent former student-athletes, selects each year’s recipients.

The other 2014 recipients are Troy Aikman, Rodney Peete, Earl Martin Phalen, George Pyne and Dara Torres. The NCAA will recognize the honorees at the Honors Celebration during the 2014 NCAA Convention in San Diego, Calif.

Stone has coached Harvard since the 1994-95 season and is the winningest coach in the history of Division I women’s hockey. She took a one-year hiatus this year to coach in the Olympics.