Ten finalists announced for 2014 Senior CLASS Award

Ten players were selected Wednesday as finalists for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

The “CLASS” in the award title is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced in November and nationwide fan voting runs through March 31 on the official website. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner, which will be announced during the Frozen Four in April.

Player's NamePositionSchool
Sam BrittainGDenver
Greg CareyFSt. Lawrence
Scott CzarnowczanDFerris State
Kyle GibbonsFCanisius
Brock HiggsFRensselaer
Cole IkkalaFUnion
Andy IlesGCornell
Dennis RobertsonDBrown
Ryan WaltersFNebraska-Omaha
Matt ZarboFClarkson