Hockey East lands six of 18 nominees for inaugural Mike Richter Award

Six Hockey East goaltenders were among the 18 announced Friday as nominees for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, given to the most outstanding goaltender in Division I men’s hockey.

The nominees, who were chosen by the 59 head coaches, are:

Sam Brittain DenverSeniorNCHC
Aaron Crandall Minnesota-DuluthSeniorNCHC
Thatcher DemkoBoston CollegeFreshmanHockey East
Ryan FaragherSt. Cloud StateJuniorNCHC
Jon GilliesProvidenceSophomoreHockey East
Connor HellebuyckMassachusetts-LowellSophomoreHockey East
Jake HildebrandMichigan StateSophomoreBig Ten
Andy IlesCornellSeniorECAC Hockey
CJ MotteFerris StateJuniorWCHA
Zach NagelvoortMichiganFreshmanBig Ten
Martin OuelletteMaineSeniorHockey East
Joel RumpelWisconsinJuniorBig Ten
Jimmy SarjeantMercyhurstJuniorAtlantic Hockey
Colin StevensUnionJuniorECAC Hockey
Steve SummerhaysNotre DameSeniorHockey East
Jason TorfAir ForceSeniorAtlantic Hockey
Adam WilcoxMinnesotaSophomoreBig Ten
Clay WittNortheasternJuniorHockey East

Four of the six Big Ten teams are represented, along with three NCHC schools. ECAC Hockey and Atlantic Hockey each have two nominees, with the WCHA getting one.

The award, started by Let’s Play Hockey magazine and the Herb Brooks Foundation, will be presented during the Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

Criteria for the award, according to the organizers, include:

• Outstanding skills on the ice.

• Good academic standing.

• Academic achievement and sportsmanship.

• Completion of 50 percent or more of the season.

• Community involvement.