Eleven teams selected for men’s Division III national tournament

The NCAA Division III field of 11 teams for the 2015 national tournament was announced Monday morning.

Seven conferences have been awarded an automatic bid, while the remaining four teams were selected as at-large teams.

Teams that received an auto-bid by winning the conference playoff tournaments are Norwich (ECAC East), Nichols (ECAC Northeast), Plymouth State (MASCAC), Hamline (MIAC), Amherst (NESCAC), Adrian (NCHA) and Plattsburgh (SUNYAC).

Hobart, Oswego, Trinity and Wisconsin-Stevens Point enter the field as the four at-large selections.

The championship playoff format involves three first-round games and four quarterfinal games that are played on the campuses of the participating schools. All games in the championship are single elimination. The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Ridder Arena in Minneapolis for the semifinal and championship games on March 27-28.


  1. No automatic bid for WIAC championships? Instead they choose the loser of the championship to advance? That’s a raw deal.

  2. I believe no automatic WIAC bid because the conference lacks the minimum # of required teams. The bigger question is why the continued East Coast/Northeast bias in the selection system? Even if you count Adrian in the West, it’s another absurd 3-8 West-East split this year, plus only 1 of 4 at-large bids is from the West (it couldn’t be zero, as a WIAC rep is a given). Over the last 10 seasons, even with the annual built-in bias and much less teams allowed in the tournament, the West has somehow had more teams reach the finals than the East (11-9). If the East was clearly superior, that would be one thing… but it’s not. The West have more USHL/NAHL (USA Tier 1-2) players on their rosters, but don’t get to compete against the East during the season. Hobart makes the show over underrated UW-Eau Claire, plus #9 ranked St. Norbert (finalists in 4 of last 5 years) and #5 UW-River Falls? It’s hard to understand (or justify) the disparity.

    • The Northeast-10 only have 4 teams as opposed to WIAC having 5. So I am not sure about the guidelines that were used to choose. It could have something to do with the strength of schedule or who they thought stood more of a chance of winning.

  3. Can someone please explain why Norwich is seeded so low?? A Play-in game to play on the road in the next round. Really?

    • I can’t figure the Norwich situation out either. A play-in game and if they win they have an away game to a much lower seed. I guess that’s what a #1 ranking means.

  4. What A Joke!!!! Only three (3) of the eleven (11) National Qualifying teams are from the West, and even that is a reach with Adrian being in Michigan. How can; St. Norbert or River Falls be left out of the equation? Norbert ranked in the Top Ten (10) are the defending National Champs and made their conference championship game before losing to Adrian. River Falls has the complete role reversal of last year when they won the WIAC regular season but loss the tournament and then are shut out of 2014 tournament – This year River Falls finishes the USCHO poll at Number Four (4), don’t win the WIAC regular season, but go on to solidly beat Stevens Point in Point for the WIAC Tournament and again are left out of the dance. Something is WRONG here. The DIII Hockey Committee needs to regroup. If the western schools (mainly Wisconsin schools) were smart they would put all their conference games at the beginning of the year and schedule the weak eastern schools to finish the season with. A major criteria for selection is the record of the team in their last 25% of their games. Think about it, if your conference is strong and deep you have in theory a 50/50 chance of having more than one team good enough to move into the tournament, a poor conference with no depth could have two teams “look superior” due to the lack of depth within that conference. Sorry Eastern Schools, not trying to rag on you, but there’s something seriously wrong here.

  5. D-3 needs to expand to 16 teams. Too many good teams left out that deserve a shot. Does not have to be balanced East and West, just the best 16 teams. Single game elimination.

    • Agreed!!! However, i think the committee will have an even tougher time with seeding the teams based on geographic location. Not in trying to keep balance or competitive ranking, but for travel distance. I would have the first round at the home rink and then have a East and West Reginal at the highest seed with the remaining 8 teams. Final to be part of the Frozen Four. As soon as wrote that, I don’t think that solves the problem, but I know people would travel to a large city to see a final and see the Div. I games as well, rather than trying to find driving instructions to Northfield, VT or Superior, WI.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here