Boston University’s Jack Eichel is the 2015 Hobey Baker Award winner

Boston University’s Jack Eichel has scored 70 points this season (photo: Melissa Wade).

BOSTON — Boston University’s Jack Eichel was named the winner of the 2015 Hobey Baker Award in a ceremony Friday at Matthews Arena.

Eichel, the national scoring leader with 70 points, also was named the Tim Taylor Award as Division I men’s hockey’s top rookie.

He beat out fellow Hobey Hat Trick finalists Zane McIntyre of North Dakota and Jimmy Vesey of Harvard for the award, becoming the third Terriers player lift the trophy. Chris Drury won in 1998, while Matt Gilroy won in 2009.

Eichel will try to duplicate what Gilroy did in 2009 — win the Hobey on Friday and win the national championship on Saturday. The Terriers play Providence in the Frozen Four title game at TD Garden.

Eichel is only the second freshman to win the award, joining Maine’s Paul Kariya in 1993.

More coverage to come.


  1. Awesome news!

    Congratulations to the other nominees, especially the rest of the Hobey Hat Trick.

    Another Hobey at the good end of Commonweath Avenue.

    • “Best” team in the USA, which had a lot of skill and the Hobey winner, also had been dodging bullets all season, having most breaks go their way. The team of destiny couldn’t seal the deal and win when it mattered most. The bad dog Terriers had to return to campus with their heads down and their tail between their legs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here