Robert Morris boasts pair of 2016 Senior CLASS Award finalists

Jake Hildebrand has been a leader for Michigan State, both on and off the ice during his four years as a Spartan (photo: Shelley M. Szwast).

The 2016 Senior CLASS Award nominees have been trimmed to 10 from the original list of 20.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced in January.

Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 28. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.

The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the Frozen Four.

Player's NamePositionSchool
Ralph CuddemiFCanisius
Theo Di Pauli von TreuheimFUnion
David GlenFPenn State
Christian HilbrichFCornell
Jake HildebrandGMichigan State
Alexander KuqaliDRIT
Zac LynchFRobert Morris
Ethan ProwDSt. Cloud State
Jimmy VeseyFHarvard
Tyson WilsonDRobert Morris