List of 26 nominees unveiled for 2016 Mike Richter Award

Mike Richter and UMass Lowell’s Connor Hellebuyck pose with the inaugural Mike Richter Award on April 11, 2014, at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia during the Frozen Four (photo: Melissa Wade).

The 26 nominees for the third annual 2016 Mike Richter Award were announced Friday and the list includes 10 nominees from 2015, three finalists from 2015 and one nominee from 2014.

Player's NameClassSchool
Paul BerrafatoSo.Holy Cross
Kevin BoyleSr.Massachusetts-Lowell
Thatcher Demko # !Jr.Boston College
Nick EllisJr.Providence
Michael Garteig #Sr.Quinnipiac
Mitch Gillam #Jr.Cornell
Kyle Hayton * #So.St. Lawrence
Cam JohnsonSo.North Dakota
Jason KasdorfSr.Rensselaer
Kasimir KaskisuoSo.Minnesota-Duluth
Greg LewisSr.Clarkson
Charlie Lindgren #Jr.St. Cloud State
Alex Lyon * #Sr.Yale
Merrick MadsenSo.Harvard
Olivier Mantha #So.Alaska-Anchorage
Eamon McAdamJr.Penn State
Packy MunsonFr.Vermont
Chris NellSo.Bowling Green
Rob Nichols #Jr.Connecticut
Cal Petersen #So.Notre Dame
Jamie Phillips * #Sr.Michigan Tech
Steve RacineSr.Michigan
Ryan RuckFr.Northeastern
Eric SchierhornFr.Minnesota
Terry ShaferSr.Robert Morris
Evan WeningerFr.Nebraska-Omaha

* 2015 finalist
# 2015 nominee
! 2014 nominee

The five finalists will be revealed on Wednesday, March 16, with the winner being announced and presented by Mike Richter himself at the Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla., in April.

Connor Hellebuyck won the inaugural award in 2014 with Massachusetts-Lowell, while North Dakota’s Zane McIntyre took home the honor in 2015.