AHCA reveals finalists for top D-I, D-III women’s coach, Hurd and Watson awards

Williams defenseman and captain Zander Masucci is one of nine finalists for the 2016 Sid Watson Award as the top player in the men’s D-III ranks (photo: Williams Athletics).

The American Hockey Coaches Association announced this week finalists for four major awards – Women’s Division I Coach of the Year, Women’s Division III Coach of the Year, the Laura Hurd Award and the Sid Watson Award.

The Laura Hurd Award is given to the top D-III women’s player, while the Sid Watson Award goes to best D-III men’s player.

D-I Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists

Coach's NameSchoolCriteria
Katie CrowleyBoston CollegeHockey East Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Matt DesrosiersClarksonNCAA semifinalist
Brad FrostMinnesotaNCAA semifinalist
Mark JohnsonWisconsinWCHA Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Jeff KampersalPrincetonECAC Hockey Coach of the Year
Mike SistiMercyhurstCHA Coach of the Year

D-III Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists

Coach's NameSchoolCriteria
Brian CarlsonBethelMIAC Coach of the Year
Joseph CranstonWisconsin-River FallsNCAA semifinalist
Chad DavisAdrianNCHA Coach of the Year
Kevin HoulePlattsburghNCAA semifinalist
Dean JacksonElmiraNCAA semifinalist
Melissa LomantoMorrisvilleCHC Coach of the Year
Bill MandigoMiddleburyNESCAC Coach of the Year, NCAA semifinalist
Candice MoxleyBuffalo StateECAC West Coach of the Year
Erik StrandWisconsin-Eau ClaireWIAC Coach of the Year
David VendittiUniversity of New EnglandNEHC Coach of the Year

Laura Hurd Award Finalists

Player's NamePositionClassSchoolCriteria
Michelle GreenewayFSr.Lake ForestNCHA Player of the Year
Chloe KinselFSr.Wisconsin-River FallsWIAC Player of the Year
Kayla MeneghinFSo.PlattsburghECAC West Player of the Year
Alex StarzykFJr.St. AnselmNEHC Player of the Year
Maddie WinslowFSo.MiddleburyNESCAC Player of the Year

Sid Watson Award Finalists

Player's NamePositionClassSchoolCriteria
Charlie AdamsFSr.HamlineMIAC Player of the Year
Tyler BeasleyFSr.NicholsECAC Northeast Player of the Year
Stephen CollinsFJr.GeneseoSUNYAC Player of the Year
Erik CooperFSr.St. NorbertNCHA Player of the Year
Tyler GreenGSr.Wisconsin-Eau ClaireWIAC Player of the Year
Zander MasucciDSr.WilliamsNESCAC Player of the Year
Jamie MurrayGSr.BabsonNEHC Player of the Year
Mac OlsonFSr.HobartECAC West Player of the Year
Marcus ZelzerGJr.Salem StateMASCAC Player of the Year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here