Twenty goalies named to watch list for 2017 Mike Richter Award

Thatcher Demko (BC - 30) - The Northeastern University Huskies defeated the Boston College Eagles 5-4 in their Hockey East semi-final match on Friday, March 18, 2016, at TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
Thatcher Demko won the 2016 Mike Richter Award and then signed with the Vancouver Canucks with his senior season at Boston College still on the table (photo: Melissa Wade).

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced Friday the 20 goalies named to the watch list for the 2017 Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA Division I men’s hockey.

The winner of the fourth annual award will be announced at the 2017 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Chicago.

In alphabetical order, the goalies on the watch list for the 2017 Mike Richter Award:

Player's NameClassSchool
Paul BerrafatoJr.Holy Cross
Michael BitzerJr.Bemidji State
Gordon DefielJr.Lake Superior State
Parker GahagenSr.Army West Point
Mitch Gillam #Jr.Cornell
Kyle Hayton #Jr.St. Lawrence
Cole HugginsSr.Minnesota State
Tanner JailletJr.Denver
Cam Johnson *Jr.North Dakota
Merrick Madsen #Jr.Harvard
Chris Nell #Jr.Bowling Green
Cal Petersen #Jr.Notre Dame
Colton PhinneyJr.Princeton
Ryan Ruck #So.Northeastern
Eric Schierhorn #So.Minnesota
Alex SakellaropoulosSr.Union
Shane StarrettSo.Air Force
Atte TolvanenSo.Northern Michigan
Drew VoglerSo.Merrimack
Evan WeningerSo.Nebraska-Omaha

* 2016 Mike Richter Award finalist
# 2016 Mike Richter Award nominee

Goalies on the Mike Richter Award watch list are chosen by members of Let’s Play Hockey, utilizing both past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
– Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
– Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
– Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
– Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent
or more of the season
– Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

Past winners of the winner are Thatcher Demko (Boston College, 2016), Zane McIntyre (North Dakota, 2015) and Connor Hellebuyck (Massachusetts-Lowell, 2014).