Clarkson, Wisconsin lead All-USCHO women’s D-I teams

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G00000U9VD_g2oOg” g_name=”Women-s-D-I-All-USCHO-Teams” f_show_caption=”t” f_show_slidenum=”t” img_title=”casc” pho_credit=”iptc” f_link=”t” f_bbar=”t” fsvis=”f” width=”500″ height=”375″ bgcolor=”#AAAAAA” bgtrans=”t” btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” crop=”f” trans=”xfade” tbs=”4000″ f_ap=”t” linkdest=”c” f_fullscreen=”f” f_constrain=”f” twoup=”f” f_topbar=”f” f_bbarbig=”” f_htmllinks=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”f” f_show_watermark=”f” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”f” f_up=”f” target=”_self” wmds=”llQ6QNgpeC.p1Ucz7U.f0MesoLn6nuJHI7IvTmAaq6aqpdUHdG_QNbOTIhcbG2SJxJvE5A–” ]

Players representing nine schools were named to the 2016-17 All-USCHO Women’s D-I teams. Clarkson, which won its second national title by upsetting Wisconsin, led the way with five players, followed by runner-up Wisconsin with four.

Other schools represented included Frozen Four teams Minnesota with three players and Boston College with two players, ECAC tournament semifinalists Princeton with three and St. Lawrence with two, WCHA Final Face-Off runner-up Minnesota Duluth with two, and Cornell and Robert Morris with one each.

Leading the way on the first team was Patty Kazmaier Award winner Ann-Renée Desbiens of Wisconsin, who shattered just about every goaltending mark during her storied career at Wisconsin. Also on the first team were the other two members of the final Patty Kazmaier trio, Cayley Mercer of Clarkson, who came up with key contributions for her team in the Frozen Four, and Lara Stalder of Minnesota Duluth, who led the Bulldogs’ resurgence this year. Rounding out the first team were regular season scoring champion Kelly Pannek of Minnesota, Boston College defenseman Megan Keller, who led all blueliners in scoring, and Kelsey Koelzer of Princeton.

The All-USCHO teams are voted on by the editor and writers.

First team
F: Cayley Mercer (Clarkson), Lara Stalder (Minnesota Duluth), Kelly Pannek (Minnesota)
D: Megan Keller (Boston College), Kelsey Koelzer (Princeton)
G: Ann-Renée Desbiens (Wisconsin)

Second team
F: Brooke Webster (St. Lawrence), Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin), Geneviève Bannon (Clarkson)
D: Savannah Harmon (Clarkson), Lee Stecklein (Minnesota)
G: Shea Tiley (Clarkson)

Third team
F: Sarah Nurse (Wisconsin), Sarah Potomak (Minnesota), Kennedy Marchment (St. Lawrence)
D: Sidney Morin (Minnesota Duluth), Jenny Ryan (Wisconsin)
G: Katie Burt (Boston College)

Rookie team
F: Jaycee Gebhard (Robert Morris), Caitrin Lonergan (Boston College), Carly Bullock (Princeton)
D: Ella Shelton (Clarkson), Jaime Bournonnais (Cornell)
G: Steph Neatby (Princeton)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here