Eleven nominees announced for 2018 Hockey Humanitarian Award

7 Apr 17: The Hockey Humanitarian Award Presentation at the Aon Ballroom on Navy Pier in Chicago, IL. (Jim Rosvold/Hockey Humanitarian Award)
The 2017 winners of the Hockey Humanitarian Award were Danny Divis and Justin McKenzie from St. Michael’s (photo: Jim Rosvold/Hockey Humanitarian Award).

The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation announced Tuesday the 11 nominees for the 2018 Hockey Humanitarian Award.

The award is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team, but also to the community at large through leadership in volunteerism.

The following are this year’s nominees:

Camil BlanchetFSr.Bowdoin
Devin BuffaloGSr.Dartmouth
Mikhail BushinskiFSr.Utica
Bryant ChristianFSr.American International
Mitch McLainFSr.Bowling Green
Ryan MulderGSr.Castleton
Courtney PensavalleFSr.Yale
Sidney PetersGSr.Minnesota
Jared PiletDSr.Concordia (Wis.)
Luke RiveraFJr.Fredonia
Lauren SpringFSr.Ohio State

Spring is a repeat nominee.

The 2017 winner was the St. Michael’s duo of Danny Divis and Justin McKenzie, the first-ever co-recipients of the award.

Finalists for the 2018 award will be announced in February and the recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 6, as part of Frozen Four weekend in St. Paul, Minn.