Hockey East announces All-Star Teams, All-Rookie Team, seven individual awards

Erik Foley (PC - 12) - The University of Massachusetts Lowell River Hawks defeated the Providence College Friars 2-1 at 12:27 of the third overtime in their Hockey East semi-final meeting on Friday, March 18, 2016, at TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
Erik Foley leads Providence in scoring with 16 goals and 35 points heading into this weekend’s Hockey East semifinals (photo: Melissa Wade).

Hockey East has announced its three 2017-18 All-Star Teams, in addition to its All-Rookie Team and seven other individual awards.

All awards were voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

The six Hockey East First Team All-Stars hail from just two different schools and include goaltender Cayden Primeau (Northeastern), defensemen Jacob Bryson (Providence) and Jeremy Davies (Northeastern), and forwards Erik Foley (Providence), Adam Gaudette (Northeastern), and Dylan Sikura (Northeastern). Gaudette and Sikura were the lone unanimous selections to the first team.

Comprising the Hockey East All-Star Second Team are goaltender Hayden Hawkey (Providence), a pair of defensemen in Dante Fabbro (Boston University) and Casey Fitzgerald (Boston College.), and forwards Bobo Carpenter (Boston University), Maxim Letunov (Connecticut), and Nolan Stevens (Northeastern).

Recognized as Hockey East All-Star Third Team members are goaltender Joseph Woll (Boston College), defensemen Michael Kim (Boston College) and Cale Makar (Massachusetts), and forwards Brett Seney (Merrimack), Brian Pinho (Providence), and Jordan Greenway (Boston University).

Also gaining acknowledgment from the league coaches are Hockey East All-Star Honorable Mentions in rookie netminder Jeremy Swayman (Maine), defensemen Tommy Panico (UMass Lowell), Brandon Hickey (Boston University) and Johnny Austin (Connecticut), and forwards Ross Colton (Vermont), Shane Bowers (Boston University), Spencer Naas (Connecticut) and Chase Pearson (Maine).

The All-Rookie Team consists of seven players and includes Primeau and Swayman in goal, Makar and Mario Ferraro (Massachusetts) on defense, and Bowers, Brady Tkachuk (Boston University), and the lone unanimous selection in Boston College’s Logan Hutsko up front.

Fitzgerald has been named the Best Defensive Defenseman and Pinho was voted as the Best Defensive Forward.

Other awards include the league’s top scorer and Hockey East Three Stars champion in Gaudette, and the Goaltender of the Year in Primeau.

Hockey East’s two sportsmanship awards will be bestowed upon Providence sophomore defenseman Jacob Bryson, who will be presented with the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award and the UMass Lowell River Hawks, who will be acknowledged with the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award for accruing the fewest penalty minutes in Hockey East games.