Canisius’ McLaughlin selected Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year

Dylan McLaughlin (13 - Canisius) (2018 Omar Phillips)
Dylan McLaughlin led Canisius and all of Atlantic Hockey in scoring during the 2017-18 season (photo: Omar Phillips).

The Atlantic Hockey regular-season award winners were announced Thursday night at the league’s annual AHC tournament championship weekend kick-off reception in Rochester, N.Y.

Six major individual awards were announced and were determined by the 11 Atlantic Hockey coaches: Player of the Year, Best Defenseman, Rookie of the Year, Best Defensive Forward, Individual Sportsmanship Award and Coach of the Year.

Player of the Year: Dylan McLaughlin, Canisius
Defenseman of the Year: Alex Wilkinson, Army West Point
Rookie of the Year: Brennan Kapcheck, American International
Best Defensive Forward: Jack Riley, Mercyhurst
Team Sportsmanship Award: Air Force
Individual Sportsmanship Award: Bryan Sienerth, Mercyhurst
Coach of the Year: Rick Gotkin, Mercyhurst

Also recognized was this year’s Scoring Champion and goaltending champion. McLaughlin was the scoring champion with 38 points on 13 goals and 25 assists. Air Force’s Billy Christopoulos took Goaltending Champion honors with a 2.14 GAA, a .915 save percentage and three shutouts in 28 league games.