Top ten finalists named for 2019 Hobey Baker Award

7 Apr 17:  The Hobey Baker Award Presentation at the Aon Ballroom on Navy Pier in Chicago, IL. (Jim Rosvold/Hobey Baker Award)
Denver’s Will Butcher was chosen as the 2017 Hobey Baker Award winner (photo: Jim Rosvold/Hobey Baker Award).

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced Wednesday the top ten candidates for the 2019 award honoring college hockey’s top player.

Joe Duszak, Jr., D, Mercyhurst
Adam Fox, Jr., D, Harvard
Taro Hirose, Jr., F, Michigan State
Quinn Hughes, So., D, Michigan
Mason Jobst, Sr., F, Ohio State
Cale Makar, So., D, Massachusetts
Patrick Newell, Sr., F, St. Cloud State
Chase Priskie, Sr., D, Quinnipiac
Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., D, St. Cloud State
Nico Sturm, Jr., F, Clarkson

The ten finalists were selected by voting from all 60 Division I college hockey head coaches plus online fan balloting.

Next, the 29-member selection committee and an additional round of fan balloting through the Hobey website March 21-31 will determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner.

Criteria for the award include displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick will be announced on April 4, 2019 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced on Friday, April 12, 2019 from Buffalo, N.Y., during the Frozen Four. The award announcement will take place at HarborCenter. The announcement will be televised live on the NHL Network and streamed on the Hobey Baker website at 6 p.m. EDT.