Daccord, Kielly, Primeau, Shepard, Shortridge named 2019 Richter Award finalists

Hunter Shepard of UMD plays the puck. Minnesota Duluth at Denver at Magness Arena, November 17, 2018. (Candace Horgan)
Minnesota Duluth’s Hunter Shepard is one of five finalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award (photo: Candace Horgan).

The five finalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey, were announced Thursday.

Arizona State’s Joey Daccord, Clarkson’s Jake Kielly, Northeastern’s Cayden Primeau, Minnesota Duluth’s Hunter Shepard and Quinnipiac’s Andrew Shortridge are the five finalists.

The sixth annual award will be presented on Friday, April 12 at the Frozen Four in Buffalo, N.Y.

Notre Dame’s Cale Morris won the award in 2018.