NCAA announces host sites for 2020, 2021 Division I men’s regionals

The PPL Center in Allentown, PA hosted the 2018 NCAA Midwest Regional (Omar Phillips 2017)
The PPL Center in Allentown, Pa., hosted the 2018 and 2019 NCAA Midwest Regional (photo: Omar Phillips).
The NCAA announced Friday the host sites for the 2020 and 2021 Division I men’s regionals.For 2020, the East regional has been awarded to the Times Union Center in Albany, N.Y., and will be hosted by ECAC Hockey on March 28-29, while the Northeast regional will be held March 27-28 at the DCU Center in Worcester, Mass., with Holy Cross serving as the host.The Midwest regional will be hosted by Penn State on March 28-29 at the PPL Center in Allentown, Pa., while Denver will be the host school for the West regional March 27-28 at the Budweiser Events Center in Loveland, Colo.In 2021, Sacred Heart and Yale will co-host the East regional March 26-27 at Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport, Conn., while New Hampshire will host the Northeast regional March 27-28 at SNHU Arena in Manchester, N.H.The Midwest regional will be March 26-27 at Scheels Arena in Fargo, N.D., with North Dakota serving as the host, while the West regional will be at the Budweiser Events Center on March 27-28 in Loveland, with Denver serving as the host school.“This is a great mix of regional sites,” said Steve Metcalf, chair of the Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee and deputy director of athletics at New Hampshire, in a statement. “We have some venues that have hosted many times, some that haven’t hosted in a while, and one that will be hosting for the first time. All of them are great hockey facilities, and will provide our student-athletes with a tremendous experience.”