Seven WCHA schools exploring idea of forming new conference for 2021-22 season

 (Brad Phalin)
Bowling Green and Minnesota State are two teams exploring the idea of playing in a new conference come 2021 (photo: Brad Phalin).

Seven NCAA Division I men’s teams have announced the exploration of a new Division I men’s hockey conference that would begin play with the 2021-2022 season.

The seven schools include current WCHA members Bemidji State, Bowling Green State, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech, Minnesota State and Northern Michigan.

The group is comprised of “institutions rich in history and tradition with a strong commitment to academic and athletic excellence,” according to a press release from Dr. Morris Kurtz, a longtime athletics administrator and athletics and hockey consultant. “They are like-minded in their goals and aspirations for the potential new league with a focus on improving regional alignment and the overall student-athlete experience while building natural rivalries within a more compact geographic footprint.

“The potential new conference is also committed to providing the best possible collegiate hockey experience for its student-athletes, fans, and all stakeholders. Finally, the group would plan to establish itself as an elite hockey conference that would have the highest standards for overall competitiveness and rigorous non-conference scheduling, along with a level of institutional investment that demonstrates significant commitment to their hockey programs and facilities, while also establishing relationships with corporate partners and others that create a high degree of visibility and positive media exposure for the league.”

Each school has also submitted a formal letter of notice to the WCHA conference office, initiating the withdrawal process in accordance with WCHA articles of incorporation and bylaws.

All seven teams will continue to play in the WCHA during the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.

“Late this afternoon, the WCHA office received communication from several of our men’s league institutions that they intend to explore the creation of a new Division I men’s hockey conference that would begin play in 2021-22,” said WCHA commissioner Bill Robertson in a statement. “The institutions have indicated they intend to compete in the WCHA during the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.

“While this news is disappointing, the WCHA will work to assure that any members that do withdraw do so in accordance with WCHA bylaws.”

Late Friday night, University of Alaska Fairbanks chancellor Dan White released a statement.

“On June 28, the University of Alaska Fairbanks learned that seven members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association announced plans to withdraw from the WCHA,” said White. “UAF was not notified in advance of this decision nor were we alerted to the preparation of such action. There are significant financial penalties for leaving the WCHA without advance notice. As such, each departing member has given two years’ notice. We will continue to play WCHA hockey with the same teams for the next two years.

“While the current configuration has had its advantages, UAF, the University of Alaska Anchorage and the University of Alabama Huntsville have been financially disadvantaged in this conference, and a realignment may benefit all three universities in the long run. We are encouraged that there are a number of teams looking now, or will be looking soon, to join an NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey conference. While disappointed, in our WCHA colleagues’ decision to leave, we look forward to the chance that lies ahead for building new partnerships.”