Repeat nominees Burke, Brosseau, Varney headline 2020 Hockey Humanitarian Award candidates

A new version of the Humanitarian Award debuted in 2015. (Jim Rosvold)
A new version of the Hockey Humanitarian Award debuted in 2015 (photo: Jim Rosvold).

The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation on Monday announced 13 nominees for the 2020 Hockey Humanitarian Award.

The award, which is celebrating its 25th year, is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community at large through leadership in volunteerism.

The following are this year’s nominees:

Player's NameClassPositionSchool
Matt BeckJr.GVermont
Davis BunzJr.DProvidence
Cal BurkeSr.FNotre Dame
Devin BrosseauSr.FClarkson
Amanda CongerSr.FSt. Anselm
Catherine CrawleySr.FConnecticut
Jordan KeeleySo.GSt. Mary's
Conlan KeenanSr.FGeneseo
Dakota KeeneSr.FUMass Boston
Jimmy PoredaSr.GPlattsburgh
Lucas SmithSr.DPost
James VarneySr.FStonehill
Delaney WolfJr.DSt. Mary's

Burke, Brosseau and Varney are repeat nominees.

Finalists for the award will be announced in February. The 2020 recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 10 as part of Frozen Four weekend in Detroit.

The 2019 winner was Wisconsin defenseman Jake Bunz.