NCAA Division I women's hockey tournament

2020 bracket

March 14
March 20
March 22
1 Cornell
Ithaca, N.Y.
4 Minnesota
Ohio State
3 Northeastern
2 Wisconsin
Madison, Wis.
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN
Agganis Arena, Boston, BTN

Printable PDF: NCAA.com bracket

2020 tournament

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 8, 9 p.m. EDT, NCAA.com

First round: Campus sites, March 14

Frozen Four: Agganis Arena, Boston, March 20 and 22

Qualifying teams: 8

Format: The top four teams according to the selection criteria will be seeded 1-4. The remaining four teams will be placed in the bracket based on relative strength as long as these pairings do not result in additional flights. All rounds are single elimination. More: NCAA Division I women's tournament selection process

Automatic qualifiers: Postseason tournament champions from CHA, ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and WCHA.

NCAA Division I women's ice hockey committee

Abbey Strong, Minnesota Duluth assistant athletic director (chair)

Anita Brenner, Cornell deputy athletic director

Katie Crowley, Boston College coach

Paul Flanagan, Syracuse coach

Kate McAfee, New Hampshire associate athletic director

Future sites


Frozen Four: Erie Insurance Arena, Erie, Pa., March 19 and 21


Frozen Four: Pegula Ice Arena, State College, Pa., March 18 and 20

NCAA champions

2019WisconsinMinnesotaHamden, Conn.
2017ClarksonWisconsinSt. Charles, Mo.
2016MinnesotaBoston CollegeDurham, N.H.
2014ClarksonMinnesotaHamden, Conn.
2013MinnesotaBoston UniversityMinneapolis
2012MinnesotaWisconsinDuluth, Minn.
2011WisconsinBoston UniversityErie, Pa.
2010Minnesota DuluthCornellMinneapolis
2008Minnesota DuluthWisconsinDuluth, Minn.
2007WisconsinMinnesota DuluthLake Placid, N.Y.
2005MinnesotaHarvardDurham, N.H.
2004MinnesotaHarvardProvidence, R.I.
2003Minnesota DuluthHarvardDuluth, Minn.
2002Minnesota DuluthBrownDurham, N.H.
2001Minnesota DuluthSt. LawrenceMinneapolis
1999*HarvardNew HampshireMinneapolis
1998*New HampshireBrownBoston

* -- National Championship sponsored by the AWCHA, not the NCAA, from 1998 to 2000.

NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Players

YearWinner, Position, School
2019Kristen Campbell, G, Wisconsin
2018Shea Tiley, G, Clarkson
2017Cayley Mercer, F, Clarkson
2016Sarah Potomak, F, Minnesota
2015Hannah Brandt, F, Minnesota
2014Jamie Lee Rattray, F, Clarkson
2013Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2012Noora Raty, G, Minnesota
2011Meghan Duggan, F, Wisconsin
Hilary Knight, F, Wisconsin
2010Emmanuelle Blais, F, Minnesota Duluth
2009Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2008Kim Martin, G, Minnesota Duluth
2007Sara Bauer, F, Wisconsin
2006Jessie Vetter, G, Wisconsin
2005Natalie Darwitz, F, Minnesota
2004Krissy Wendell, F, Minnesota
2003Caroline Ouellette, F, Minnesota Duluth
2002Kristy Zamora, F, Brown
2001Maria Rooth, F, Minnesota Duluth
2000Erica Killewald, G, Minnesota
1999Jennifer Botterill, F, Harvard
1998Winny Brodt, D, Minnesota