Hockey East Names All-Academic Honor Roll

With 45 student-athletes named to its 1995-96 All-Academic Honor Roll, Hockey East established a new record for the most players named in a season. The Honor Roll was first instituted in 1989.

Leading the way was Top Scholar-Athlete Tomas Persson of Northeastern, who compiled a 3.918 GPA for the year in International Business and Finance, including a 4.0 in his second semester.

To qualify for the honor, a student-athlete must post a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale for both of the semesters during which he played hockey.

Persson, a senior, joins an elite list of Hockey East players to receive the Distinguished Scholar Award, given for being named to the Honor Roll all four years that he played hockey. Only 10 Distinguished Scholars have ever been named by the league. Persson is Northeastern’s third Distinguished Scholar, tying a record held by Merrimack.

For the fourth straight year, Merrimack led the league in having the most student-athletes named to the Honor Roll, and set a new record in the process. This year, 13 Warriors were named, breaking the record of 10 set by Merrimack in 1994-95. Merrimack had nine honorees in both 1993-94 and 1992-93.

Four 1996-97 returning seniors-to-be are eligible as Distinguished Scholars next year, having been named to the Honor Roll for three years straight. They are: Rob Beck and Tom Johnson (Merrimack), Craig Lindsay (UMass-Lowell), and Dan Shermerhorn (Maine).

The complete list of honorees:

Brendan Buckley
David Hymovitz
Timmy Lewis
Chris Masters
Clifton McHale
Nick Pierandri

Shawn Ferullo
Dan Ronan

Steve Kariya
Blair Marsh
Dan Shermerhorn

Jon Jacques
Steve MacKinnon
Blair Wagar

Ed Campbell
Craig Lindsay
Mike Nicholishen
Ryan Sandholm

Rob Beck
Jason Feeley
Karl Infanger
Tom Johnson
Casey Kesselring
Daryl Krauss
Martin Laroche
Martin Legault
Claudio Peca
Kris Porter
Darrel Scoville
Eric Thibeault
Eric Weichselbaumer

Todd Hall
Jason Krog
Brian Larochelle
Chad Onufrechuk
Mike Sullivan

Arttu Kayhko
Brad Klyn
Tomas Persson

Jon Coe
Mike Gambino
David Green
Mark Kane
Jay Kenney
Troy Lake