ECAC Awards Announced

Regular-season champion Clarkson boasts two of the six ECAC First Team All-Stars, it was announced today.

One of them, ECAC scoring champion Todd White, was selected Player of the Year by league head coaches. White was also the only unanimous First Team selection this year. He is the first Clarkson player to win the scoring title and the first to be named Player of the Year since Steve Cruickshank accomplished those feats in 1981-82.

The Golden Knights had three All-Stars; senior defenseman Matt Pagnutti made the First Team and junior goalie Dan Murphy was a second-team selection. In all, eight different schools produced the twelve All-Stars, with Vermont and Union having a player on each squad.

There are seven seniors and five juniors among the 12 players recognized. The only underclassman on the First Team is Union goalie Trevor Koenig.

The ECAC Rookie of the Year is Harvard freshman goaltender J.R. Prestifilippo. He played every minute in all 22 ECAC games for the Crimson, and is the first HU player to win the award.

The ECC/KOHO Coach of the Year is Stan Moore of Union. The first-year coach guided the Dutchmen to a school record for Division I wins and a best-ever fifth-place finish in the regular-season standings.

This year’s winner of the Dryden Award, given to the top ECAC goaltender, is Trevor Koenig of Union. Koenig led all ECAC goalies wih a 2.19 GAA in 19 ECAC league games, and established a league record for consecutive shutout minutes with 198:44.

The All-ECAC First and Second Teams are as follows:

First Team

 Trevor Koenig, Union       Jr   Goalie
Matt Pagnutti, Clarkson Sr Defenseman
Steve Wilson, Cornell Sr Defenseman
Mike Harder, Colgate Sr Forward
Todd White, Clarkson Sr Forward
Martin St. Louis, Vermont Sr Forward

Second Team

 Dan Murphy, Clarkson       Jr    Goalie
Ray Giroux, Yale Jr Defenseman
Andrew Will, Union Sr Defenseman
Paul DiFrancesco, SLU Jr Forward
Eric Healey, RPI Jr Forward
Eric Perrin, Vermont Sr Forward

Receiving honorable mention were goalies Jason Elliot of Cornell and Tim Thomas of Vermont; defensemen Jimmy Andersson of Brown, John Dance of Colgate, Ashlin Halfnight and Jeremiah McCarthy of Harvard, Jon Sorg of Vermont and Chad Wilson of Cornell; and forwards Chris Clark and J.F. Houle of Clarkson, Kyle Knopp of Cornell and David Whitworth of Dartmouth.