NCHA Announces Postseason Awards

St. Norbert forward Rob Smillie, who helped lead the Green Knights to their second straight NCHA regular-season championship, was named the league’s Player of the Year, the league announced Monday. The 5-11, 190-pound junior led the NCHA in both goals and points, with 19 goals and 14 assists for 33 points.

Meanwhile, St. Norbert College coach Tim Coghlin has been named NCHA Coach of the Year. Coghlin, who won the award for the first time, led the Green Knights to a 21-4-0 regular-season and a 17-3-0 NCHA record. Coghlin has compiled a 75-49-9 record in five years at St. Norbert.

The 1998 all-NCHA team, consisting of two goaltenders, four defensemen and six forwards, is as follows:

Goalies: Brady Alstead, Wisconsin-River Falls (12-5-1, 2.34 GAA, .913 SV%) and Bobby Gorman, Wisconsin-Superior (13-5-0, 2.52 GAA, .912 SV%).

Defensemen: Mike Donaghue, Bemidji State (8-11–19), Lon Hovland, Wisconsin-Superior (5-15–20), Greg Ambrose, Bemidji State (3-20–23) and Tom Maryshak, St. Norbert (4-13–17).

Forwards: Rob Smillie, St. Norbert (19-14–33), Scott Jewitt, St. Norbert, (14-17–31) Aaron Novak, Bemidji State (18-14–32), Forrest Gore, Wisconsin-Superior (15-11–26), Mike Schauer, Wisconsin-River Falls (12-15–27) and Ben Gorewich, Wiscosin-Superior (10-17–27).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here