Hockey East names All-Academic Team

Top Scholar Sean MacDonald of Northeastern leads this year’s Hockey East All-Academic team, composed of 48 student-athletes from the conference’s nine institutions.

MacDonald posted a 3.92 GPA during the two semesters he was in school while playing hockey. It was the second consecutive year in which he received the honor.

Graduating seniors Mark Kane (Providence), Jason Krog (New Hampshire), Chad Onufrechuk (New Hampshire), Kris Porter (Merrimack), and Dan Ronan (Boston University) were honored with the Distinguished Scholar Award after being named to the All-Academic Team each of their four years in college. Only 21 Distinguished Scholars have ever been named by Hockey East. Krog was also the recipient of the 1999 Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the nation’s top collegiate player and was selected as the Hockey East Player of the Year.

Merrimack led all Hockey East schools by having 10 student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team, the seventh consecutive year in which Merrimack has led the league. Maine and Providence had eight players each named to the team.

“We are very proud of our student-athletes and their ability to meet all their responsibilities, in and out of the classroom,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “It’s a credit to this record group that they have done so well academically at a time when our on-ice profile has never been higher.”

Eleven years ago, Hockey East established the academic honor roll to recognize the academic accomplishments of its student-athletes. To be named, a player must record a 3.0 or better GPA in each of the two semesters he was in school while playing hockey.

The complete listing of players named to the team follows.

Brendan Buckley
Jeff Giuliano
Mike Lephart
Andy McLaughlin
Dan Sullivan

Mike DiMella
Dan Ronan (*)

Marcus Gustafsson
Steve Kariya
Cory Larose
James Leger
Peter Metcalf
Gray Shaneberger
Eric Turgeon
Jason Vitorino

Cris Classen
Vince Clevenger
Andrew Fox
Joe Gray
Chris Halecki
Julien Jorgenson
Stephen Moon
Kris Porter (*)
John Pyliotis
Roland Sperlich

David Busch
Jason Krog (*)
Chad Onufrechuk (*)

Dan Calore
Erik Engbrecht
Willie Levesque
Chris Lynch
Sean MacDonald
Richard Spiller

Cole Gendreau
Dave Gunderson
Mark Kane (*)
Troy Lake
Adam Lee
Matt Libby
Josh MacNevin
J.J. Picinic

Jeff Turner
Dmitri Vasiliev
Toni Soderholm
Jack McDonough

Craig Brown
John Campbell

* – Distinguished Scholar