Miller Adds USA Hockey Award to Growing List

Michigan State goalie Ryan Miller, who recently won the Hobey Baker Award in just his sophomore season, was named winner of the USA Hockey College Player of the Year. He will be among 11 athletes, coaches, officials, administrators and volunteers honored at a banquet June 9 for their “excellence, dedication and contributions to the sport of hockey in the United States.”

Miller, who needed just two seasons to break the all-time career NCAA shutout record, was 31-5-4 this past season, with a 1.32 goals against average.

Other awards winners are:

USA Hockey Special Presentation
Gary Dineen, West Springfield, Mass.
Coach, Junior Coyotes (Eastern Junior Hockey League)

Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year
Jason Bacashihua, Dearborn Heights, Mich.
Chicago Freeze (North American Hockey League)

USA Hockey Women’s Player of the Year
Krissy Wendell, Brooklyn Park, Minn.
2001 U.S. Women’s National Team

USA Hockey Junior Player of the Year
Chris Fournier, Anchorage, Alaska
Lincoln Stars (United States Hockey League)

Bob Johnson Award (excellence in internation competition)
Darby Hendrickson, Richfield, Minn.
Eric Weinrich, Roanoke, Va.
2001 U.S. Men’s National Team

USA Hockey Distinguished Achievement Award
Herb Brooks, Shoreview, Minn.

Chet Stewart Award (officiating)
Robert Lilla, Northbrook, Ill.

Walter Yaciuk Award (volunteer service)
Dr. Alan Ashare, Chestnut Hill, Mass.

Wm. Thayer Tutt Award (volunteer service)
Dan Kelleher, Belmont, Mass.