Moe Is POTY As AHCA Announces D-III Women’s Awards

Sarah Moe of Gustavus Adolphus has been chosen this year’s women’s hockey College Division Player of the Year by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). The senior forward from West Des Moines, Iowa, led her squad into the first NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championships Frozen Four.



The AHCA also named its JOFA College Division All-America team, honoring Middlebury’s Catherine Elkins for an unprecedented fourth year in a row.

Of Moe, Gustavus coach Mike Carroll: “Since stepping onto the ice for the Gusties in the winter of 1998, Sarah has proven herself to be the finest player in Gustavus women’s hockey history. She is the program’s leading all-time scorer and became the program’s first All-America selection in 2001. Moe was selected as the MIAC Player of the Year in 1999 and this year, and has been a First Team All-Conference selection all four years.”

Moe finished her senior season with 31 goals and 27 assists for 58 points. For her career, she had 80 goals and 64 assists for 144 points.

The first two players of the year were from Middlebury, Sylvia Ryan in 2000 and Michelle Labbe last year.

The coaches association selected two All-America first teams, one from the East and West. The coaches also selected a second team from the East.

Williams sophomore Molly Waserman repeated on the East first team, while Moe and St. Mary’s junior goalie Missie Meemken repeated their West first-team

Only three of the 18 players are seniors, three are juniors, five are sophomores, and seven are freshmen. Eleven different schools are represented
on this year’s squads.


G — Nicole Elliot, Manhattanville, FR, Scarbourough, Ont.
D — Catherine Elkins, Middlebury, SR, Bernardsville, N.J.
D — Kristin Marie Anderson, Bowdoin, FR, (Glenville, N.Y.
F — Shelly Chessie. Bowdoin, JR, (Fredricton, N.B.
F — Laura Hurd, Elmira, FR, (Kingston, Ont.
F — Molly Waserman, Williams, SO, Minnetonka, Minn.


G — Missie Meemken, St. Mary’s, JR, St. Cloud, Minn.
D — Lindsy Carlson, Wisconsin-Superior, SO, Two Harbors, Minn.
D — Ellen Doyle, Gustavus Adolphus, SO, Eagan, Minn.
F — Sarah Moe, Gustavus Adolphus, SR, West Des Moines, Iowa
F — Ann Ninnemann, Wisconsin-Stevens Point, FR, Rosemont, Minn.
F – Melanie Salatino, Wisconsin-Superior, FR, Thunder Bay, Ont.


G — Karen Jamnik, Southern Maine, SO, Cranston, R.I.
D – Leanne Denman, Elmira, FR, Eagan, Minn.
D – Jen Gorcynski, RIT, SO, Rochester, N.Y.
F – Colleen Baude, RIT, SR, Chatham, N.J.
F — Amber Neil, Middlebury, JR, Port Crane, N.Y.
F — Cherie Stewart, Manhattanville, FR, Lake Forest, Calif.