ECAC Preseason Polls Pick Cornell

Cornell, the defending regular season champion, and Harvard, the defending ECAC tournament champion, finished 1-2 in both the preseason coach’s and media polls.

In the coach’s poll, the Big Red edged out the Crimson by one point, garnering seven of the 12 first place votes and a total of 116 points. The Crimson received the other five first-place votes and finished with 115 points.

In the media poll, the Big Red took 16 of the 21 first place votes for 247 points while the Crimson took four first-place votes and 226 points.

Clarkson finished third in both polls with 99 points in the coach’s poll and the Golden Knights received one first-place vote and 202 points.

After that there was some divergence among the polls.

In the coach’s poll Brown was awarded fourth place, followed by St. Lawrence, Yale, Colgate and Rensselaer.

In the media poll it was Dartmouth in fourth, followed by Brown, St. Lawrence, Rensselaer and then Yale.

The last four slots in the coach’s poll were given to Dartmouth, Union, Princeton and Vermont. In the media poll, it was Colgate, Princeton, Vermont and Union.

The selections for the preseason All-Conference squads were identical from both the coaches and the media. Harvard led the way with two selections, while Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth and Yale each had one, making the squad an All-Ivy squad.

G Yann Danis, Brown
D Doug Murray, Cornell
D Trevor Byrne, Dartmouth
F Chris Higgins, Yale
F Dominic Moore, Harvard
F Brett Nowak, Harvard

Chris Kelley, the sports director for WPTZ NewsChannel 5 in Plattsburgh, N.Y., was the fifth recipient of the ECAC Media Recognition Award. Kelley covers Vermont, Clarkson and St. Lawrence.

Past Media Recognition Award Winners:

1998 Ken Schott, Schenectady Gazette
1999 Bob Ahlfeld, WPDM/WSNN
2000 Barbara Huebner, Boston Globe
2001 Jayson Moy, US College Hockey Online