CCHA Names All-Rookie Team

Three schools each have a pair of players among the six freshmen named to the 2003-04 CCHA All-Rookie Team by vote of the conference head coaches. At least one Wolverine has been honored in 12 of the 16 years since the team was created. The team will be honored at the 2004 CCHA Awards on Wednesday, March 17, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

2003-04 CCHA All-Rookie Team

F Matt Christie, Miami
F Marty Guerin, Miami
F T.J. Hensick, Michigan
D Matt Hunwick, Michigan
D A.J. Thelen, Michigan State
G Dominic Vicari, Michigan State

Matt Christie: The CCHA’s leading power-play goal scorer this season with seven in conference play. Christie recorded 12 goals in conference play, tying him with two others for the freshman lead, and was tied for fourth on Miami in overall scoring with 30 points.

Marty Guerin: Emerged as the second-highest scoring rookie in conference play with 11 goals and 24 points in 28 games. Guerin, who was one of just six freshmen to record a shorthanded goal this season, finished tied for the Miami lead with a plus-10 rating in conference play.

T.J. Hensick: Led Michigan in both conference and overall scoring with 34 and 41 points, respectively. Hensick’s 34 points in CCHA play made him the leading freshman scorer and second-leading scorer overall in conference play.

Matt Hunwick: Led Michigan with a plus-14 in CCHA games. Hunwick, who led his team with 54 penalty minutes, is the sixth Wolverine defenseman to be named to the All-Rookie Team in the last seven years.

A.J. Thelen: Third in the nation for scoring by a defenseman with 29 points overall. Thelen, whose 23 points in conference play tie him for third on Michigan State, is third in the CCHA with a plus-16. Thelen is ranked 16th in the NHL’s Central Scouting MidTerm Report, the highest of any CCHA skater.

Dominic Vicari: Leads the CCHA with a 1.88 GAA in 20 conference games played. Vicari’s .933 save percentage in those games ranks him second in the league. Vicari, who leads Michigan State with 13 wins on the season, recorded a nation-leading seven shutouts this season, six coming in CCHA play.

Honorable mentions
Forward — Tom Goebel, MSU; Darin Olver, NMU; Curtis Fraser, UAF; Andrew Schembri, OSU; Scott Parse, UNO; Paul Szczechura, WMU. Defense — Wes O’Neill, ND; Jonathan Sigalet, BGSU; Giovanni Flamminio, FSU. Goaltender — David Brown, ND; Jeff Jakaitis, LSSU; Brandon Crawford-West, MIA.