St. Norbert, St. John’s Each Land Three on D-III All-USCHO Teams

Last season’s national runner-up, St. Norbert, and a team that narrowly missed the NCAA playoffs, St. John’s, each placed three players on the men’s preseason D-III All-USCHO team as announced Monday by

St. Norbert first-team All-Americans Jason Deitsch and Ryan Tew were selected for the All-USCHO first team, with second-team All-American Spencer Carburry joining them on the All-USCHO second team.

St. John’s had three first-team All-Americans on the All-USCHO team, first-teamers Darryl Smoleroff and Adam Hanna, and on the second-team, Scott Bjorklund.

Ten other schools placed individual players on the men’s preseason D-III All-USCHO team. Eight of those programs were joined by six other colleges in receiving honorable mentions.

Complete men’s preseason D-III All-USCHO teams and honorable mentions appear below.

First Team

F Kurtis McLean, Norwich
F Jason Deitsch, St. Norbert
F Dustin Lick, St. Thomas
D Ryan Tew, St. Norbert
D Darryl Smoleroff, St. John’s
G Adam Hanna, St. John’s

Second Team

F Spencer Carburry, St. Norbert
F Mike Tucciarone, RIT
F Scott Bjorklund, St. John’s
D Levi Doria, Middlebury
D Dale Lupul, Wis.-Superior
G Andy Scanlon, Wis.-River Falls

Third Team

F Dave Friel, Plattsburgh
F Jimmy Sokol, Utica
F Brian Doherty, Curry
D Nick Fouts, New England College
D Blayne Goodman, Wentworth
G Doug Kiselius, Trinity

Honorable Mentions

F: Adam Dann, Bowdoin; Jaakko Kolari, New England College; Trinity; Beau Kretzman, Amherst; Craig Levey, Hobart; Don Patrick, Oswego; Joseph Ori, Trinity; Sean Pero, Curry

D: Manu Mau’u, Curry; Brian Phinney, Middlebury; Mike Prsa, Wentworth; Chad Van Diemen, Manhattanville

G: Mike Boudreau, Norwich; Joel Cameron, Lake Forest; Adam Lavelle, Hobart; Craig Neilsen, Plattsburgh; Michael Shimek, New England College