No Expansion For WCHA

The WCHA has reaffirmed its moratorium on expansion, the league announced Tuesday.

In the wake of the decision, ratified by member schools after recommendation by its structure committee, the WCHA will therefore remain at 10 teams for the foreseeable future.

The decision is of principal interest to CHA program Bemidji State, which had been interested in WCHA membership. The league’s decision eliminates that possibility for now, at least. However, in a statement on its website the league said it “has not, however, closed the door on this issue permanently.”

With only five teams in the CHA, both Bemidji State and Wayne State had been examining their options, with Wayne State reportedly interested in CCHA membership.

In fact, the future of the BSU hockey program may be at stake, as school president Jon Quistgaard said back in February that WCHA admission — along with increased funding in the form of pledges — were essential to the program’s future.

The WCHA has been a 10-team league since the accession of Minnesota State in 1999-2000.