Eight Finalists Named For Hockey Humanitarian Award

The Hockey Humanitarian Award, presented by BNY Mellon Wealth Management, on Monday announced a record eight finalists among 22 players nominated for the 2008 award, presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order, are Ryan Adler, Jr., Hobart College; William Bruce, Sr., Williams College; Ethan Cox, So., Colgate University; Jeff DeFrancesca, Sr., University of Wisconsin-Stout; Missy Elumba, Jr., Northeastern University; Jody Heywood, Jr., Ohio State University; Ashley King, Sr., Wayne State University; and Caralyn Quan, Sr., Williams College

Each finalist will be interviewed by members of the selection committee and additional information will be released in late February about each student-athlete.

The 13th recipient of the Hockey Humanitarian Award will be selected from the group of finalists and named in a ceremony held in conjunction with the NCAA Skills Competition and the Hobey Baker Memorial Award on Friday, April 11 at the Pepsi Center in Denver during the 2008 NCAA Frozen Four.

About BNY Mellon: BNY Mellon Wealth Management is among the nation’s leading wealth managers, with more than two centuries of experience in providing investment management, wealth and estate planning, and private banking and finance services to financially successful individuals and families, their family offices and business enterprises, charitable gift programs, and endowments and foundations. It ranks as one of the top 10 U.S. wealth managers with approximately $170 billion in private client assets and an expansive network of more than 80 offices globally.

More information on the history of the award, the 2008 schedule of events and a list of past nominees, finalists and recipients can be found at www.hockeyhumanitarian.org.