Walter Brown Award down to 15 semifinalists

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Monday the 15 Division I players who are semifinalists for the 59th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

The semifinalists include nine players from Hockey East, five from ECAC Hockey, and one from Atlantic Hockey. The slate comprises nine forwards, four goalies, and two defensemen. Boston College and Yale each have three nominees while New Hampshire and Boston University have two.

“Once again, the Walter Brown Award Committee took on a formidable task in evaluating all the worthy nominees and selecting a field of semifinalists,” said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello. “Unfortunately, not every player who received serious consideration is on this list.”

Cam Atkinson, forward, Boston College
Chris Cahill, forward, Yale
Joe Cannata, goaltender, Merrimack
Chris Connolly, forward, Boston University
Brian Gibbons, forward, Boston College
Eric Hartzell, goaltender, Quinnipiac
Denny Kearney, forward, Yale
Blake Kessel, defenseman, New Hampshire
Rob Linsmayer, forward, Holy Cross
Broc Little, forward, Yale
Kyle MacKinnon, forward, Providence
James Mello, goaltender, Dartmouth
John Muse, goaltender, Boston College
Paul Thompson, forward, New Hampshire
David Warsofsky, defenseman, Boston University

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the award next month, following league playoffs and before the start of the NCAA Tournament. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers Dinner in April.