Ten finalists named for Kazmaier Award

USA Hockey announced the 10 finalists for the 2011 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award and two players each from Boston College, Cornell, Mercyhurst and Wisconsin are among the finalists.

The award, annually given to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey, will be presented on March 19 at the Bayfront Convention Center in Erie, Pa., in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four (March 18 and 20).

Meghan Agosta, Sr, F, Mercyhurst
Vicki Bendus, Sr, F, Mercyhurst
Meghan Duggan, Sr, F, Wisconsin
Laura Fortino, So, D, Cornell
Haley Irwin, Jr, F, Minnesota-Duluth
Rebecca Johnston, Jr, F, Cornell
Hilary Knight, Jr, F, Wisconsin
Noora Räty, So, G, Minnesota
Molly Schaus, Sr, G, Boston College
Kelli Stack, Sr, F, Boston College

The three finalists will be chosen by a 13-member selection committee comprised of NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches, representatives of the print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey.

The three finalists will be announced on March 10.