Report: Big Ten chooses two-week postseason

The Big Ten will use a two-week postseason format when the league debuts in the 2013-14 season, according to a report.

The Wisconsin State Journal reported that the six-team league will award first-round byes to the top two teams in the standings. The third-place team will host the sixth-place team and the fourth-place team will host the fifth-place team in first-round, best-of-three series.

The next weekend, the league regular season champion will host the semifinals and finals.

Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin will form the Big Ten.