WIAC women’s conference names annual award winners

Wisconsin-Stevens Point earned two individual awards as the WIAC announced its year-end awards on Thursday.

Senior forward Cassandra Salmen earned player of the year accolades, while Ann Ninnemann was named coach of the year.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire senior forward Nikki Kothenbeutel took home the Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award and was also one of four players named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

In addition, 14 players were named to the All-WIAC Team, four players were named Honorable Mention and another four made up the sportsmanship squad.

2014 All-WIAC Women’s Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Katie BattersFSr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Kait MasonFSr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Kerry MayhewFSr.Wisconsin-Superior
Cassandra SalmenFSr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Dani SchultzFJr.Wisconsin-Superior
Brook StoryFSr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Allie TanzerFSr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Sam GreeleyDJr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Paige JohnsonDFr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Sheryl KaskiwDSr.Wisconsin-Superior
Megan NickelsonDSr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Janna Beilke-SkougGJr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Ashley KuechleGSr.Wisconsin-River Falls
Shanley PetersGSr.Wisconsin-Superior

2014 WIAC Women’s Honorable Mention

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Chloe KinselFSo.Wisconsin-River Falls
Emily LesterFSo.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Nicole SchaubDJr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Paige TurnerGSo.Wisconsin-Eau Claire

2014 WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Leah GefrohFSo.Wisconsin-River Falls
Nikki KothenbeutelFSr.Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Rachel ReynardFSo.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Allison ShriftFSr.Wisconsin-Superior