Hockey East announces All-Rookie Team, nine individual award winners

Austin Cangelosi (BC - 26) - The Boston College Eagles defeated the visiting University of New Brunswick Varsity Reds 6-4 in an exhibition game on Saturday, October 4, 2014, at Kelley Rink in Conte Forum in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
Boston College senior Austin Cangelosi has been named Hockey East’s top defensive forward for the 2016-17 season (photo: Melissa Wade).

Hockey East announced Wednesday the 2016-17 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team and nine other season-long award winners as voted by the league’s 12 head coaches in advance of the 2017 Hockey East championship March 17-18 at TD Garden in Boston.

The honorees will be recognized at Thursday night’s annual awards banquet.

Hockey East All-Rookie Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Ross ColtonFVermont
Patrick GrassoFNew Hampshire
Patrick HarperFBoston University
Clayton KellerFBoston University
Andrew PeekeDNotre Dame
Joseph WollGBoston College
Jake OettingerGBoston University

Also set to be recognized at Thursday night’s ceremonies will be a pair of defensive awards, as Notre Dame sophomore Dennis Gilbert has been named the ’47 Brand Best Defensive Defenseman and Boston College senior Austin Cangelosi was voted as the Gladiator Custom Mouthguards Best Defensive Forward.

Three statistical award champions will also be acknowledged, including the league’s top scorer, New Hampshire senior forward Tyler Kelleher, the Stop It Goaltending Hockey East Goaltending Champion in Merrimack junior Collin Delia and the ARMY ROTC Three Stars Award winners, given to three champions this year as Notre Dame junior forward Anders Bjork, Keller and Kelleher each earned the same amount of points from being named one of the ARMY ROTC Three Stars of the Game after each league contest.

Hockey East’s two sportsmanship awards will be bestowed upon UMass Lowell senior forward Joe Gambardella, just the second player to be honored with the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award two years in a row, and Notre Dame, which will be acknowledged with the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award for accruing the fewest penalty minutes in Hockey East games.