CHA Honors Award Winners at Final Five

The second annual College Hockey America postseason tournament kicked off with an awards ceremony honoring the five qualifying teams and conference award winners.



Air Force senior goaltender Marc Kielkucki earned College Hockey America Player of the Year honors after leading the Air Force Academy to their second straight CHA Final Five appearance. Kielkucki posted a 6-9-1 record in the CHA this season and a 2.95 goals-against average with a .910 save percentage.

Findlay goaltender Kevin Fines, a freshman from Sarnia, Ont., earned Rookie of the Year honors after leading the CHA in save percentage (.924). Fines posted a 4-6-1 record in the CHA and a 2.97 goals-against average. He was also named to the All-CHA Second Team.

Air Force’s Scott Bradley, a senior from Colorado Springs, Colo., got the nod as the Student-Athlete of the Year. Bradley recorded one goal and 14 assists for 15 points in 19 games in league play during the regular season.

Findlay head coach Craig Barnett was named the CHA Coach of the Year after guiding the Oilers to a second straight CHA Final Five appearance. Barnett’s Oilers posted a 10-14-2 record overall and a 8-10-2 record in league play. The record in league play was good for a fourth-place tie with Air Force. Barnett’s team was picked to finish sixth in the CHA Preseason Coaches Poll.

All-CHA First Team

F Brian Gornick, Air Force, Jr. (St. Paul, Minn.)
F Dwayne Blais, Alabama-Huntsville, Sr. (Sudbury, Ont.)
F Jason Durbin, Wayne State, So. (Trenton, Mich.)
D Brant Somerville, Findlay, Jr. (Scarborough, Ont.)
D Darren Curry, Ala.-Huntsville, Sr. (Manotick, Ont.)
G Marc Kielkucki, Air Force, Sr. (Brooklyn Park, Minn.)

All-CHA Second Team

F Karlis Zirnis, Alabama-Huntsville, So. (Riga, Latvia)
F Bernie Sigrist, Niagara, So. (Toronto, Ont.)
F Andy Berg, Air Force, So. (Stillwater, Minn.)
D Clay Simmons, Bemidji State, So. (Princeton, B.C.)
D Tyler Kindle, Wayne State (Portage, Mich.)
G Kevin Fines, Findlay, Fr. (Sarnia, Ont.)

All-CHA Rookie Team

F Aaron Weegar, Findlay, Fr. (Potsdam, N.Y.)
F Christian Olson, Findlay, Fr. (Edina, Minn.)
F Chris Vail, Wayne State, Fr. (Grosse Pointe Shores, Mich.)
D Joe Locallo, Air Force, Fr. (Chicago, Ill.)
D Bryce Methven, Bemidji State, Fr. (Mora, Minn.)
G Kevin Fines, Findlay, Fr. (Sarnia, Ont.)

Player of the Year: Marc Kielkucki, Air Force, Sr. (Brooklyn Park, Minn.)
Rookie of the Year: Kevin Fines, Findlay, Fr. (Sarnia, Ont.)
Coach of the Year: Craig Barnett, Findlay
Student-Athlete of the Year: Scott Bradley, Air Force, Sr. (Colorado Springs, Colo.)