2002 Vote For Hobey Begins

College hockey’s top individual prize, the Hobey Baker Award, is now accepting nominations in the first phase of naming the Hobey winner. From now until Jan. 6, hockey fans may nominate Division I men’s college hockey players.

The Vote For Hobey process offers college hockey fans the unique opportunity to actually participate in the selection of the game’s top individual honor. The award is now in its 22nd season, and has been won in recent years by NHL regulars such as Bryan Holzinger (1995), Brendan Morrison (1997) and Chris Drury (1998).

The initial phase of Vote For Hobey consists of nominations. Each fan can nominate any amount of players, one time each. This is done by going to the Vote For Hobey (www.voteforhobey.com) or Hobey Baker (www.hobeybaker.com) web site, and following the prompts.

Candidates receiving at least 25 nominating votes will become eligible to receive votes in the second phase: Finalist Selection. Hockey fans can follow the results of the nominating progress by checking back to the web site for updates every Monday.

Once the nominating phase is completed, college hockey fans will have two more phases to cast their votes in helping to determine this year’s Hobey Baker Award recipient. From Jan. 7, 2002 through March 7, 2002, registered voters may cast ballots (one per day) for their first, second and third choices.

Fans will be casting ballots along with the 60 Division I college hockey head coaches to determine the Top Ten Finalists. That list of elite players will be announced on Thursday, March 14.

In the final round of balloting running from March 15, 2002 through March 25, 2002, mregistered voters can (once per day) cast their ballots ranking the top 10 candidates, one through five. The top selection from the fans will join the ballots from the Selection Committee (comprised of college hockey personnel, pro scouts and media) in determining the 2002 Hobey winner.

The award recipient will be announced in a live telecast from the NCAA Frozen Four Tournament in St. Paul, Minn. on Friday, April 5, 2002.