Clark Named Fishman Intern

Alex Clark has been named The Brian Fishman Intern for the 2005-06 season. Clark, who graduated summa cum laude on May 15 from Colgate University, will begin his duties with USA Hockey in late June.

The Brian Fishman Internship, in its seventh year, is named after the late Brian Fishman, who passed away on Jan. 7, 1999, at age 28. Fishman was the manager of communications and marketing for the USA Hockey National Team Development Program in 1998-99 and served as the sports information contact for the University of Michigan men’s hockey team from 1995-97.

Clark will assist in all facets of USA Hockey’s media and public relations effort, including feature writing for USA Hockey Magazine.

“Alex typifies the integrity, enthusiasm and passion for hockey that so distinguished Brian, and I am confident he will be a strong asset to USA Hockey,” said Barry Fishman, Brian’s father. “Brian’s mother, Ruth, and I are pleased to welcome Alex to the tradition of excellence that the internship has come to represent.”

Clark worked with the Colgate Raiders men’s hockey program in various capacities since 2001. He covered the team for multiple outlets, including The Maroon News, Colgate’s student newspaper; U.S. College Hockey Online; and USCHO Magazine. Clark helped to produce and served as the play-by-play announcer for Colgate University Television’s Raider hockey coverage. He also worked with Colgate’s athletic communications department on a variety of sports, assisting with the production of media guides, compiling and computing statistics and writing feature articles for Colgate’s athletic website.

Clark remained active away from the Colgate athletic program as well. He interned at ESPN Radio in Chicago during the summer of 2002, primarily aiding the station’s afternoon show Mac, Jurko and Harry. Clark spent the following summer as an intern with Empire Sports Network in Buffalo, N.Y., where he helped log highlights and write for the nightly Empire Sports Report.

Previous Brian Fishman Interns include Christy Jeffries in 2004-05 from Boston University, Caitlin Lazaro in 2003-04 from the University of New Hampshire, Seth Cole in 2002-03 from St. Michael’s College, Yariv Amir in 2001-02 from Colgate University, Cassy Maxton in 2000-01 from Miami (Ohio) University, and the inaugural recipient, Jennifer Dame in 1999-2000 from St. Cloud State University.