Senior CLASS Award announces 10 finalists, with five from Atlantic Hockey

The 10 finalists for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award were named Wednesday by a media committee from the list of 20 candidates announced in November.

To be eligible for the award, a player must be an Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

The “CLASS” is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.

The winner will be announced during the Frozen Four in Pittsburgh April 11 and 13 as nationwide fan voting begins immediately and runs through March 25 on the Senior CLASS Award website or on the Senior CLASS Award Facebook page. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

Player's NamePositionSchool
Brett BeebeFWestern Michigan
Danny BiegaDHarvard
Kyle BonisFFerris State
Stephen CarewF/DAir Force
Alex GerkeDConnecticut
Ben HanowskiFSt. Cloud State
Brendan JamisonDRobert Morris
Brandon NunnFHoly Cross
Cheyne RochaDArmy
Steven SpinellDMiami