Norwich, Utica, Wisconsin-Eau Claire get at-large bids to 2013 Division III men’s NCAA tournament

Norwich, Utica and Wisconsin-Eau Claire received at-large bids to the 2013 Division III men’s NCAA tournament when the brackets were unveiled Sunday night.

They join eight conference tournament champions in the field of 11, with the tournament opening with three first-round games Wednesday.

Division III men’s NCAA tournament page, with brackets

Printable bracket (PDF)

The automatic bids: Babson from the ECAC East, Wentworth from the ECAC Northeast, Massachusetts-Dartmouth from the MASCAC, Bowdoin from the NESCAC, Oswego from the SUNYAC, Adrian from the MCHA, St. John’s from the MIAC and two-time defending champion St. Norbert from the NCHA.

Utica, which lost in the semifinals of the ECAC West tournament, got in ahead of league playoff champion Neumann.

Norwich lost to Babson in the ECAC East final, while Eau Claire fell to St. Norbert in the NCHC.

Norwich, Oswego, Adrian, St. Norbert and Utica earned byes to Saturday’s quarterfinal round.

In first-round games Wednesday:

• Babson will host Wentworth, with the winner playing at Norwich on Saturday.

• Wisconsin-Eau Claire will host St. John’s, with the winner playing at St. Norbert on Saturday.

• Bowdoin will host Massachusetts-Dartmouth, with the winner playing at Utica on Saturday.

One quarterfinal game is set for Saturday: Oswego playing at Adrian.