Minnesota trio named finalists for Patty Kazmaier Award

For the first time ever, all three finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award are from the same team.

Minnesota senior defenseman Megan Bozek, junior forward Amanda Kessel and senior goaltender Noora Räty have guided the Gophers to a perfect 36-0-0 record this season and an NCAA-record 44-game winning streak, dating back to last season.

Bozek, also Minnesota’s captain, has 18 goals and 52 points in 34 games, while Kessel, also a finalist in 2012, has posted 43 goals and 51 assists in 32 games, nearly a three-points-per-game average.

Räty is 33-0-0 with a 0.93 goals-against average, a .956 save percentage and an NCAA-record 15 shutouts.

The Kazmaier Award, now in its 16th season, will be presented at a brunch ceremony on Saturday, March 23, at the McNamara Alumni Center in Minneapolis during the women’s Frozen Four weekend.