Defending national champion Minnesota picked to win WCHA women’s conference

Minnesota has won the last two women’s Frozen Four championships and according to a preseason poll of the WCHA head coaches, the Gophers are the pick to win the conference in 2013-14.

Minnesota garnered seven of eight first-place votes and 49 of a possible 50 voting points.


Team (First-Place Votes)Total Points
1. Minnesota (7)49
2. Wisconsin (1)42
3. North Dakota36
4. Ohio State31
5. Minnesota-Duluth27
6. Minnesota State17
7. (tie) Bemidji State11
7. (tie) St. Cloud State11

In addition, Minnesota sophomore forward Hannah Brandt (five votes) earned preseason player of the year honors and Wisconsin senior goalie Alex Rigsby (three votes) also earned votes.

As well, Minnesota forward Dani Cameranesi (three votes) was named preseason rookie of the year. Wisconsin forward Sarah Nurse (two votes), Bemidji State goaltender Brittni Mowat, North Dakota defenseman Halli Krzyaniak and Minnesota-Duluth forward Ashleigh Brykaliuk (all with one vote) also received votes.