AHCA announces eight major award winners for 2014

The AHCA announced Thursday its eight major award winners for 2014.

All honorees will be presented their awards at the 2014 AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla., from April 30 to May 4.

JOHN MAC INNES AWARD: Established by AHCA in 1982 to honor former Michigan Tech coach, John MacInnes, this award recognizes those people “who have shown a great concern for amateur hockey and youth programs. The recipients have had high winning percentages, as well as outstanding graduating percentages among their former players. The winners of this award have helped young men grow not only as hockey players, but more importantly, as men. 2014 Recipient: Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence

JOHN “SNOOKS” KELLEY FOUNDERS AWARD: Named after the famed Boston College coach, this award honors those people in the coaching profession “who have contributed to the overall growth and development of the sport of ice hockey in the United States. 2014 Recipient: Don “Toot” Cahoon, Lehigh, Norwich, Boston University, Princeton and Massachusetts

TERRY FLANAGAN AWARD: Named in honor of the former New Hampshire player and Bowling Green assistant coach, this award honors an assistant coach’s career body of work. 2014 Recipient: Steve Mattson, Norwich

JOHN MARIUCCI AWARD: John Mariucci, the former Minnesota coach, was not only an outstanding college coach, but also a driving force behind the growth of hockey in the United States. In 1987, the AHCA created this award to honor a secondary school association coach “who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and enthusiasm of the ‘Godfather of U.S. Hockey,’ John Mariucci.” 2014 Recipient: Joe McCabe, Don Bosco and Boston College (Mass.) High School

JIM FULLERTON AWARD: Named in honor of the former Brown coach and AHCA “spiritual leader,” this award recognizes an individual “who loves the purity of our sport. Whether a coach, administrator, trainer, official, journalist or simply a fan, the recipient exemplifies Jim Fullerton, who gave as much as he received and never stopped caring about the direction in which our game was heading.” 2014 Recipient: Tim McNeill, Notre Dame

JOE BURKE AWARD: “Presented annually to the person who has given outstanding contribution, support, and dedication to women’s ice hockey.” It is named in honor of a girls’ and women’s hockey “superfan,” Joe Burke. 2014 Recipient: Mary Ann Robinson, Wisconsin Amateur Hockey

THE WOMEN’S ICE HOCKEY FOUNDERS AWARD: This award honors a member of the hockey community or college coaching profession who has contributed to the overall growth and development of the sport of women’s ice hockey in the U.S. “through their enthusiasm, passion and selflessness.”
2014 Recipient: Margaret “Digit” Murphy, Brown

THE WOMEN’S ICE HOCKEY ASSISTANT COACH AWARD: This award recognizes the career body of work of an assistant coach in women’s hockey. 2014 Recipient: Danielle Bilodeau, Cornell