Yale men, Minnesota women to be honored at White House ceremony

President Barack Obama will honor the 2012-13 Yale men’s hockey and Minnesota women’s hockey teams along with other NCAA champions at a South Lawn ceremony at the White House on Monday.

Yale beat Quinnipiac in last season’s men’s Frozen Four championship game for its first national title and to become the lowest-seeded team ever to win it all.

Minnesota went 41-0 to win its second straight women’s national title a year ago, beating Boston University in the championship game.

The hockey teams will join 17 other NCAA champions from the 2012-13 season in Monday’s ceremony, which will have a live video stream. The start time has not been announced.