Michigan’s Connor gets Tim Taylor Award as nation’s top rookie

Michigan’s Kyle Connor led the country with 35 goals and 71 points (photo: Michael Dubicki).

Michigan’s Kyle Connor on Friday was named the winner of the 2016 Tim Taylor Award as the top rookie in Division I men’s hockey.

Connor, the national leader in goals (35) and points (71), also was a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award that was awarded to Harvard senior Jimmy Vesey.

A Shelby Township, Mich., native, Connor had 12 multiple-goal games, including a four-goal outing against Penn State in the Big Ten tournament semifinals.

“It’s been a special year for Kyle. He’s had an unbelievable season,” Michigan coach Red Berenson said in a news release. “He knows where to go on the ice often before the player with the puck knows. He gets his shot away as quick as anyone I’ve seen, and he’s accurate. He’s a pure goal-scorer. Kyle has earned all of the recognition he’s received.”

The Tim Taylor Award is voted on by the nation’s assistant coaches and is named for the former Yale and U.S. Olympic coach.

North Dakota’s Brock Boeser was the runner-up.