Men’s Division III All-Americans announced; Geneseo’s Collins a repeat First Team pick

The well-traveled Stephen Collins has come home to play for Geneseo and has led the Knights to an impressive first half. (Dan Hickling)
Stephen Collins posted 48 points in 2016-17 to lead Geneseo in the scoring department (photo: Dan Hickling).

Players from 22 different schools — including six participating this weekend in the NCAA Division III championship in Utica, N.Y. — can boast 2017 CCM Division II-III men’s hockey All-American selections as the squads were announced Thursday evening at the event’s banquet.

Nine different schools led the way with two honorees each, including NCAA semifinalists Adrian, Norwich and St. Norbert.

Geneseo senior forward Stephen Collins is the only First Team repeat selection from 2016.

First Team – East

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Stephen CollinsFSr.Geneseo
Brady FleurentFSo.University of New England
Colin LarkinFJr.UMass Boston
Stephen JohnsonDSr.Oswego
Cody SmithDSr.Norwich
Evan BuitenhuisGJr.Hamilton

First Team – West

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Lawrence CornellierFSr.Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Jack LewisFSr.Lake Forest
Patrick MooreFSr.Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Cory DunnDSo.Adrian
Rory VeselDSr.Augsburg
T.J. BlackGSo.St. Norbert

Second Team – East

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Dominik GabajFSr.Nazareth
Jory MullinFSr.Neumann
William PelletierFSr.Norwich
Tyler BishopDSr.UMass Boston
Logan DayDSo.Endicott
Brett KilarGSr.New England College

Second Team – West

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Trevor BoydFSo.Adrian
Nate FlynnFJr.Augsburg
Thomas WilliamsFSr.St. Thomas
Sean CampbellDJr.St. Norbert
Mitch HallDJr.Hamline
Gianni MangoneDSo.Marian
Benjamin MyersGSo.St. Thomas

Third Team – East

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Tommy BesingerFSo.Endicott
Trevor FleurentFSr.University of New England
Kenny NeilFSr.Oswego
Carl BelizarioDSr.Hobart
Ayrton ValenteDJr.Plattsburgh
Mike DeLaVergneGSr.Buffalo State


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here